UPSC Syllabus: IAS Mains & Prelims Syllabus, Exam Pattern

Posted by Notes Mantra on

The varied job opportunities which the Indian Civil services encompass within it has the capability to offer a recruit with the greatest powers, responsibilities and authorities when compared to other occupations. The occupation offered as a part of Indian Civil Services can very well be dubbed as dream jobs. They are all-in-one package jobs, the part of which are attractive salaries, foreign tours, job satisfaction and security and all that one can dream for. The examination process for aspirants to qualify as an IAS, IPS, IFS, etc. is administered by the UPSC. The process is a rigorous one and lasts usually for an entire year on average. The UPSC attracts candidates from the lengths and breadths across the nation. The aspirants that qualify the UPSC or civil service examinations serve in All India or the Indian Civil Services

UPSC Syllabus Exam Pattern

The Indian Civil Services are constituted by occupations namely IAS, IPS or the IFS in conjugation with the various other occupations that are a part of it. These services altogether form the spine of Indian administrative machinery.

Let us gain a comprehensive insight into the three main parallels of the Indian Civil Services that follow:

The Indian Administrative Services or IAS

The foundation of the Indian Imperial Services was laid on 26th January 1950 and they later came to be known as the Indian Administrative Services. The Indian Administrative Services is the most sought - after Civil Services amongst the UPSC aspirants. IAS is relatively deemed to of the highest administrative positions amongst the others like IPS, IFS, etc. An IAS officer responsibility includes representing the government of the nation in various multilateral and bilateral decisions nationally and internationally.

You might wanna look for:- IAS Study Material in Hindi

The Indian Police Services or IPS

The foundation of the Indian Police Services was laid in the year 1948. The Indian Police Service is regulated by the Ministry of Home Affairs. The Indian Police Services are divided into 5 further channels. These namely are the Crime Investigation Department (CID), Crime Branch, Traffic Bureau and Home Guards.  The primary responsibility of an IPS recruit involves safeguarding the interests of the general public along with maintaining societal peace.

The Indian Forest Services or IFS

The foundation for the Indian Forest Services was laid in the year 1966. The governing body of the Indian Forest services is the Union Public Service Commission of India. IFS officers are primarily required to take care of the scientific management of the multitude of forests spread across the nation. His/her duties also include implementing varied National Forest Policies that ensure environmental stability along with balance.

The pattern of the UPSC Examinations

The Civil Services Examination regulated by UPSC is divided into three stages:

  • Preliminary Examinations (Objective Type)

Preliminary examinations popularly referred as “Prelims” amongst the aspirants is also known by the name of Civil Services Aptitude Test (CSAT).  The prelims are further divided into two papers of 200 marks each. Both papers are subjective based on the MCQ pattern and the time limit is 2 hours individually for each of the papers. The question papers have questions translated both into Hindi and English language apart from the ones related to English Comprehension Skills. Blind candidates are allotted 20 more minutes over the 2 hours. Students are recommended to follow UPSC notes in conjugation with the NCERT texts and other study materials to prepare for the prelims.

  • Main Examinations

Candidates that qualify in the prelims are required to appear for the main exams. The mains are further divided as follows:

  • Qualifying Paper 1 of 300 marks that test the ability of the aspirant in one of the languages selected by him/her included in the eighth schedule of the constitution of India.
  • Qualifying Paper 2 of 300 marks that test the comprehensive skills of the aspirant in English language.
  • Merit Papers based on topics related to Technology, Economic, Disaster Management, Environment, Security and Bio-Diversity.

UPSC notes are available on various sources online and offline. Aspirants can refer to the UPSC notes along with the recommended study material for UPSC examinations. Once they have covered all the topics, it is mandatory that the go through UPSC test series in order to retain the content they have learned. Practicing UPSC test series also help aspirants in revising the content and clearing their concepts on the topics that they might have inadvertently skipped in the beginning.

  • Personality Test / Interview

The candidates qualifying in the UPSC main examinations are required to further appear for the interview round which would evaluate the overall personality and character traits. The interview holds 275 marks and is the final stage of the entire process of selection.

You Might Wanna Check:- Vision IAS Test Series

The Syllabus for UPSC Examinations

  • The syllabi for Preliminary Exam Paper 1

National and International Current Affairs, Indian History, History of Indian National Movement, Physical/Economical/Social Indian and World Geography, Indian Polity and its Governance, Economic as well as Social Development and general issues on Ecology, Climate Change, Bio-diversity, etc.

  • The Syllabi for Preliminary Exam Paper 2cu

Comprehensive ability, Communication Skills, Interpersonal Skills, Logical reasoning ability, decision making and problem - solving abilities, mental ability, basic numeracy abilities (numbers and their relations along with orders of magnitudes) and Data Interpretation.

  • The syllabi for UPSC Main Examinations

English Comprehension and precision, General Studies 1 (India’s heritage and culture, history and geography of India and the world), General Studies 2 (Governance, Constitution, Polity, International Relations and Social Justice), General Studies 3 (Technology, Economic Development, Security, Bio-diversity, Disaster Management and Environment), General Studies 4 (Aptitude, Ethics and Integrity), Optional Subject Paper 1 and 2.

This blog aims at laying a special emphasis on practicing UPSC test series as it will give the aspirants an idea about the actual examination pattern. Also, it happens several times when it is not possible to retain the contents of a particular topic. Practicing UPSC notes and test series will assist the aspirants to make intellectual guesses at the time of papers.

UPSC test series and notes can be ordered easily from online sources. The study material providers will arrange to deliver the notes at your doorstep.

Share this post

← Older Post Newer Post →

Leave a comment

Related Posts

Himachal PSC Exam Pattern and Syllabus
Himachal PSC/HPPSC usually happens every year for the requirement of Group 'A' and 'B' officers in Himachal Administr...
Read More
IB ACIO Exam Pattern and Syllabus
Ministry of Home Affairs (MHA) has recently released the notification for the post of Assistant Central Intelligence ...
Read More
Jharkhand PSC Exam Pattern and Syllabus
Jharkhand PSC/JPSC usually happens every year for the requirement of Group 'A' and 'B' officers in Jharkhand Administ...
Read More


Sold Out

FB Twitter YouTube InstaGram